SAXON Releases New Single “The Pilgrimage”; Streaming music videos


British heavy metal legends Saxon have released the third single, “The Pilgrimage”, from their forthcoming album, Carpe Diem, which will be released on Friday February 4 via Silver Lining Music.

“Pilgrimage is a fantastic word,” says Biff Byford, “People go on pilgrimages all the time, not just in a historical or religious sense, but it’s about going to visit either a place that you feel is special in your life. , or someone who meant something in your life. You can go on a pilgrimage to see your great-grandfather who died during the First World War, for example. These are journeys of great weight and importance.

Produced by Andy Sneap (guitarist of Judas Priest, Exodus, Accept and Priest) at Backstage Recording Studios in Derbyshire with Byford and Sneap mixing and mastering, Carpe Diem hits the ear as one of Britain’s most iconic metal statements. essentials of recent years and not lacking in rhythm or bite, an album that will ignite the joy of loyal supporters and attract a whole new legion into the Saxon fold.

Sneap, himself a guitarist and producer with a certain reputation in metal, assures that Carpe Diem does not lack an ounce of grain or sharpness. “Andy is obviously a very good guitar player,” says Biff, “but he’s not a blues-based guitar player like our guys, he’s more of a modern-style player. And that means the boys (Paul Quinn and Doug Scarratt) love working with him because, again, it’s all about the intensity. Andy always pushes the boundaries, he doesn’t let them get away with anything. They have to play it for real, at full speed. It gets great sounding, and we want that 80s Gibson/Marshall sound even though it’s not Gibsons and Marshalls. We’re trying to keep that British metal guitar sound that we created for Saxon, and it’s definitely a kid of the 80s.”

Despite a career that spans 44 years with over 15 million albums sold, including four top 10 UK albums, and having performed to hundreds of thousands of fans worldwide, Saxon is gearing up for one of its busiest times to date.

“We’re going to be very busy this year,” says Biff. “There are festivals that were rescheduled two years ago, we’re looking to go to America, we’re also going to tour the UK and Europe later in the year and like everyone really, we let’s just cross our fingers that it all works out and we can do anything. We’re also recording the second Inspirations album, and while we’re doing that, you never know, we might write a few songs for Saxon’s next album…”

As you can see, Saxon remains committed to capturing every minute of every hour of every day. Carpe Diem indeed!

Carpe Diem will be available in a variety of formats and pre-orders can be placed here.

Cover by Paul R. Gregory.

Track list:

“Carpe Diem (Seize the Day)”
“The Age of Steam”
“The Pilgrimage”
“Remember the Dead”
“Lady in Grey”
“All for one”
“Dark is Night”
“Living on the Edge”

“Remember The Fallen” video:

Video “Carpe Diem (Sixteen The Day)”:

Saxon composition:

Biff Byford – Vocals
Paul Quinn – Guitar
Nigel Glockler – Drums
Doug Scarratt – Guitar
Nibbs Carter – Bass


Comments are closed.